Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Golden Eagles Sweep End of Year Awards

Golden Eagles Sweep End of Year Awards

ELMHURST, Ill. - With their 38-14 overall record and fifteenth Summit League regular-season championship, the Oral Roberts Golden Eagles add to their successful season by sweeping the major awards for the 2015 season at the conference's end of year banquet Tuesday night.

It marks the sixth time in program history that ORU has swept the conference awards, with the last time coming in 2009.

Three years in as head coach of the Golden Eagles baseball program, Ryan Folmar has been voted The Summit League Coach of the Year. He has led the Golden Eagles to a 5-1 on the year versus Big 12 opponents while falling in just two midweek games throughout the season.

Picking up Player of the Year honors as well as First Team All-League recognition as a utility player and relief pitcher is senior Anthony Sequeira. The two-way man has led the team offensively with 10 home runs to go along with a .348 batting average. After proving himself as an offensive threat, the Petaluma, Calif. native also excelled on the mound for the Golden Eagles, leading the squad and tied for the conference lead with nine saves. Sequeira also boasts an ERA of 1.63 in 27.2 innings of work while leading the league in RBIs (52), home runs (10) and tied for tops in the conference with nine saves. He ranks in the top 10 in hits (70), doubles (17) and walks (28).

After a superb freshman campaign, Matt Whatley earned Newcomer of the Year recognition as well as First Team All-League honors behind the plate. Whatley leads the team with a .352 average, including 68 hits, 15 doubles, five home runs and three triples in 49 games of action. The Claremore, Okla. native also showed his speed on the bases, swiping 15 bases in 20 attempts, while throwing out 51.4 percent of runners.

Junior right-hander Xavier Altamirano was named the league's Pitcher of the Year as well as a First Team All-League member after finishing the year with an 8-2 overall record in 14 starts. A Douglas, Ariz. native, he posted a 2.82 ERA in 83 innings. Over the course of the year, Altamirano struck out 79 opponents and walked only 14 while holding his opponents to a .252 batting average against.

The Golden Eagles also dominated the Summit's First Team All-League team with nine players occupying 14 slots.

Joining Altamirano and Sequeira with First-Team honors on the mound is Guillermo Trujillo after the right-hander posted a 9-3 record and 4.07 ERA. The junior held opponents at bay with a .253 batting average against while striking out 65.

Audie Afenir, Matt Brandy and Chase Stafford round out the infield first team for the Golden Eagles. Afenir, a senior finished the regular season with the third-best average on the team at .343 with 16 doubles, a triple and two home runs to go along with 39 RBI.

Brandy was a staple at second base for ORU all season, starting all 52 games. Of his 61 hits, 15 went for extra bases as he doubled ten times and homered five times for a .437 slugging percentage. Brandy also led the team after drawing 41 walks on the year.

Stafford notched a .311 batting average on the season as he drove in 32 RBI. The junior boasts a .459 slugging percentage while drawing 30 walks for a .444 on-base percentage.

Senior Derrian James was the lone Golden Eagle to earn conference honors in the outfield. James appeared in 50 games throughout the year and hit at a clip of .326. He led the team with 17 doubles while connecting for five homers. The Port Arthur, Texas native stole 10-of-12 bases.

The team opens Summit League Tournament action Wednesday at 2 p.m. against North Dakota State in Sioux Falls, S.D. Fans can follow along with the action through the ORU Sports Network Geoff Haxton will have the radio call on 1550 AM in the Tulsa area and around the world for free online and on mobile devices at

For the latest information on ORU baseball, follow @ORUBaseball on Twitter or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the Golden Eagles Front Row App at or in the App Store. 

Click here to view a gallery.

All-League Awards
Player of the Year: Anthony Sequeira, ORU
Pitcher of the Year: Xavier Altamirano, ORU
Newcomer of the Year: Matt Whatley, ORU
Coach of the Year: Ryan Folmar, ORU

First Team
1B – Audie Afenir, ORU
2B – Matt Brandy, ORU
3B – Chase Stafford, ORU
SS – Clayton Taylor, UNO
OF – Zach Coppola, SDSU
OF – Cole Gruber, UNO
OF – Derrian James, ORU
C – Matt Whatley, ORU
DH – Luke Ringhofer, SDSU
UTL – Anthony Sequeira, ORU
SP – Xavier Altamirano, ORU
SP – Adam Bray, SDSU
SP – Guillermo Trujillo, ORU
RP – Anthony Sequeira, ORU

Second Team
1B – Kendall Whitman, IPFW
2B – Al Robbins, SDSU
3B – John Skrbec, NDSU
SS – Greg Kaiser, IPFW
OF – Ben Petersen, NDSU
OF – Brandon Soat, IPFW
OF – Shane Trevino, IPFW
C – Reid Clary, SDSU
DH – Brock Logan, IPFW
UTL – Alex Schultz, UNO
SP – Chris Anderson, SDSU
SP – Evan Miller, IPFW
SP – Zach Williamsen, UNO
RP – Tyler Owings, WIU