Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Obanor, Nzekwesi Earn All-Summit League Honors; Obanor Top Freshman

Obanor, Nzekwesi Earn All-Summit League Honors; Obanor Top Freshman

TULSA, Okla. – Junior Emmanuel Nzekwesi and freshman Kevin Obanor were each named to the All-Summit League second team, it was announced by the league office Thursday. Obanor was not finished racking up accolades as he was also named Freshman of the Year, Sixth man of the Year and earned a spot on the All-Newcomer team.

Obanor burst onto The Summit League scene this year, winning ORU's second Freshman of the Year honor in the last three years after Nzekwesi did so in 2016-17. He added ORU's second-straight Sixth Man of the Year honor and became the first ORU freshman to make the all-league team since Caleb Green and Ken Tutt did so in 2003-04.

Despite being hurt for six of the final 10 Summit League games, Nzekwesi averaged a double-double with 16.8 points and 10.5 rebounds per game in league play to earn second team honors after being named honorable mention last year.

News and Notes

  • Nzekwesi and Obanor are the only duo to rank in the top 10 in The Summit League in both scoring and rebounding this season.
  • Obanor was the lone freshman among the five players selected for the All-Newcomer Team.
  • ORU has had either the Freshman or Newcomer of the Year awards in each of the last three seasons. Nzekwesi and Obanor earned Freshman of the Year, while Austin Ruder was last season's Newcomer of the Year.
  • Nzekwesi finished the regular season seventh in The Summit League in scoring (15.3 ppg) and second in rebounding (8.7 rpg).
  • Obanor finished the regular season ninth in scoring (14.5 ppg), sixth in rebounding (7.3 rpg) and fourth in free throw percentage (83 percent).
  • The 31 points scored by Obanor against South Dakota is third all-time among freshmen at ORU. Warren Niles holds the freshman record with 39 points against IUPUI and Caleb Green is second at 33 points against UMKC.
  • ORU had two All-Summit League selections for the first time since the 2014-15 season when juniors Obi Emegano and Korey Billbury earned first and second team honors, respectively.
  • The Golden Eagles finished tied for fifth in the regular season, and will face No. 4 North Dakota State on Sunday at 6 p.m. in The Summit League quarterfinals.

2019 Summit League Men's Basketball Awards
First Team
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Mitch Hahn, Omaha
Zach Jackson, Omaha
David Jenkins, South Dakota State
John Konchar, Purdue Fort Wayne
Stanley Umude, South Dakota

Second Team
Skyler Flatten, South Dakota State
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts

Kobe Webster, Western Illinois

Honorable Mention
Trey Burch-Manning, South Dakota
Kason Harrell, Purdue Fort Wayne
Cortez Seales, North Dakota
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State
Triston Simpson, South Dakota

All-Newcomer Team
Ronnie Harrell, Jr., Denver
Matt Holba, Purdue Fort Wayne
Cody Kelley, South Dakota
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State

Player of the Year
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois

Sixth Man of the Year
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts

Freshman of the Year
Kevin Obanor, Oral Roberts

Newcomer of the Year
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Derrin Hansen, Omaha

For the latest information on ORU men's basketball, follow @ORUMBB on Twitter or Instagram, or go to Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the ORU Athletics Front Row App at  or the ORU Golden Eagles Live App in iTunes or the Google Play Store. For tickets, visit or call 495-7ORU (7678).


BYU Tops ORU 85-65
November 15, 2018 BYU Tops ORU 85-65
Mabee Madness October 29
October 29, 2018 Mabee Madness October 29