Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

ITA Names Seven Golden Eagles to 2018 All-Academic Team

ITA Names Seven Golden Eagles to 2018 All-Academic Team

Kenneth Boykin, Andrew Guymon and Eddy Leardini garnered the ITA recognition for the ORU men, while Jovana Antonijevic, Brenda Mercado, Naomi Munitic and Andrea Vasiljevic claimed the honors for the ORU women's team.

Eight teams and 32 student-athletes from Summit League tennis institutions were honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) for their academic achievements throughout the 2017-18 school year.

Men's teams from The Summit League earning ITA All-Academic Team accolades included Denver, Omaha, Oral Roberts and Valparaiso. On the women's side it was Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota and Western Illinois receiving ITA All-Academic Team recognition.

The Golden Eagle tennis program boasted the second-most ITA Scholar-Athletes with seven. Here is a team-by-team breakdown of 2018 ITA Scholar-Athletes:

  • Denver (Women): 1
  • Omaha (Women): 6
  • Oral Roberts (Women): 4
  • South Dakota (Women): 5
  • Western Illinois (Women): 6
  • Omaha (Men): 4
  • Oral Roberts (Men): 3
  • Valparaiso (Men): 3

For the full ITA All-Academic Team and Scholar-Athlete release, please click here.


The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).