Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

What to Watch For: 2018 Summit League Indoor Track & Field Championships

What to Watch For: 2018 Summit League Indoor Track & Field Championships

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Shelly Ellig Indoor Track and Field Facility in Fargo, N.D., will play host to the 2018 Summit League Indoor Track & Field Championships this Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24.

Friday's events get underway at 9:30 a.m. with the women's pentathlon, while the men's heptathlon with begin shortly after at 10 a.m. Section two of the women's 3000-meter run will be the first event on the track (3:30 p.m.) and the women's weight throw starts things in the field (4:00 p.m.). All times are central.


Fans at home will be able to follow along via streaming and live stats. Additionally, make sure to follow our Summit League Championships twitter account (@summitchamps) for continuous updates throughout the weekend.

More information—including league records, statistics, ticket prices and parking—can be found on our 2018 Summit League Indoor Track & Field Championships page.


  • North Dakota State is eyeing its third-straight men's and women's championship sweep this weekend, while the women specifically are searching for their league-record 11th consecutive team title
  • This is the fourth time in league history indoor championships will be held in Fargo, N.D. The Bison have claimed five of the possible six championships, with the South Dakota men nabbing the only other team trophy in 2015
  • A historic 10 indoor league championship records were set at this meet last year
  • Five men are looking to repeat as indoor event champions in their respective events: South Dakota State's Kyle Burdick (3000m), SDSU's Bryant Courter (Long Jump), Oral Roberts' Jaden Purnell (Triple Jump), USD's Chris Nilsen (Pole Vault) and NDSU's Ryan Enerson (Heptathlon)
  • Three women are also looking to defend 2017 indoor league crowns in their respective events: SDSU's Rachel King (3000m and 5000m), USD's Shanice Cannigan (60m hurdles) and USD's Samara Spencer (High Jump)
  • Cannigan is the only student-athlete to hold Top-5 marks/times in four Summit League event categories this season: 60mH (No. 1), High Jump (No. 5), Long Jump (No. 2) and Pentathlon (No. 1)
  • Three Summit League student-athletes rank in the Top-20 nationally in their respective event categories, and all three don the South Dakota red and white: Nilsen (No. 1—pole vault), Ethan Bray (No. 14—pole vault) and Helen Falda (No. 11—pole vault)
  • Ranked eighth in the world this season, Nilsen was most recently named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Men's Division I National Athlete of the Week (Feb. 20) after moving into a tie for fifth place in NCAA history with a personal-best vault of 19' 0.25" (5.80m) last Friday (Feb. 17)



  • Raymond Ekevwo (FR) - Leads The Summit League in the 60 meter dash (6.69 seconds)
  • Victor Peka (FR), Omeiza Akerele (SR) and Aobakwe Malau (SO) - Top three times in the 200 meters (21.38, 21.52 and 21.61 seconds, respectively)
  • Emmanuel Mwewa (JR) and Omeiza Akerele (SR) - Hold the top two spots for the league's 400 meters (47.32 and 48.11 seconds, respectively)
  • Israel Nelson (JR) - Paces the conference in the 60 meter hurdles (7.94 seconds)
  • 4x400 Meter Relay team has the fastest time of the indoor season (3:09.70)
  • Jaden Purnell (JR) - His school record in the triple jump leads the league (15.63 meters)


  • Aniekeme Etim (FR) and Cameron Hilliard (SR) - Posted The Summit League's top times in the 60 meter dash (7.39 and 7.65 seconds, respectively)
  • Aniekeme Etim (FR) - Holds the top spot in the conferece in the 200 meter dash (24.01 seconds)
  • Mercy Abire (SO) - Has the best leap for all conference student-athletes in the triple jump this season (12.58 meters)


Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.