Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Trio Earns Summit League End of Year Honors

Trio Earns Summit League End of Year Honors

ELMHURST, Ill. – A trio of Golden Eagles were honored Thursday by The Summit League with sophomores Faith Ihim, Kaylan Mayberry and freshman Maria Martianez earning accolades announced by the league office in voting by head coaches, sports information directors and select media members.

Ihim was named Summit League Sixth Woman of the Year while Mayberry was named Second Team All-Summit League. Martianez was also named to The Summit League All-Newcomer Team to round out honors for the Oral Roberts women's basketball team.

A sophomore from Tulsa, Mayberry led ORU in scoring at 11.0 points per game and averaged 2.1 assists per game. She started 16 of the final 17 games for the Golden Eagles and posted back-to-back career-high 25 point games in an upset at Kansas and at Western Illinois. During league play Mayberry averaged 12.3 ppg to finish in the top 12 of The Summit League in scoring.

Tulsa native, Faith Ihim, was the second leading scorer with 10.3 points per game during the regular season and led the team in rebounding at 7.0 boards per game. She was a 42 percent shooter from the field and finished in the top 7 for The Summit League in rebounding. She tallied four double-doubles during the year while also scoring in double figures in five of the final six games of the season. 

Martianez, a native of Barcelona, Spain, started in all 28 games during the regular season for ORU averaging 7.3 points per game and 6.0 rebounds per game. She scored a season-high 20 points in a win over Western Illinois and pulled down a season best 12 rebounds against South Dakota State. She led the team with 1.1 blocks per game and was second on the team with 1.9 assists per game.

Oral Roberts opens the 2016 Summit League Tournament Sunday as the No. 4 seed against No. 5 seed Western Illinois. Tournament action begins with the quarterfinals on Saturday and Sunday before Monday's semifinals as the entire tournament can be seen on ESPN3 and the Watch ESPN App. The championship will tip Tuesday at 1 p.m. and air nationally on ESPNU. 

The complete list of the 2016 Summit League honors is listed below:

First Team All-Summit League
Danielle Lawrence, IUPUI
Macy Miller, South Dakota State
Mikale Rogers, IUPUI
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota
Mikaela Shaw, Omaha
Marena Whittle, North Dakota State

Second Team All-Summit League
Tia Hemiller, South Dakota
Michelle Maher, Western Illinois
Kaylan Mayberry, Oral Roberts
Sophie Reichelt, Western Illinois
Ellie Thompson, South Dakota State 

Honorable Mention
Paige Bradley, Denver
Kamilah Carter, Fort Wayne
Kelly Stewart, South Dakota
Taylor Thunstedt, North Dakota State
Kerri Young, South Dakota State 

Caitlin Duffy, South Dakota
Madison Guebert, South Dakota State
Taylor Higginbotham, Western Illinois
Caroline Hogue, Omaha
Maria Martianez, Oral Roberts 

Player of the Year
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota 

Coach of the Year
Amy Williams, South Dakota 

Defensive Player of the Year
Clarissa Ober, South Dakota State 

Sixth Woman of the Year
Faith Ihim, Oral Roberts 

Transfer of the Year
Caitlin Duffy, South Dakota 

Freshman of the Year
Madison Guebert, South Dakota State 

For the latest information on ORU women's basketball, follow @ORUWBB on Twitter or go to  Fans can also receive updates on the team by downloading the Golden Eagles Front Row App at or in the App Store.

ORU Shocks Kansas in 70-63 Win
December 22, 2015 ORU Shocks Kansas in 70-63 Win
ORU Falls at Michigan 61-44
November 29, 2015 ORU Falls at Michigan 61-44
ORU Rolls Evangel, 89-46
November 14, 2015 ORU Rolls Evangel, 89-46